A Cruel Light: Globe Trotter

I love discovering where my book is available. I knew that one day, it was possible that A CRUEL LIGHT could be translated. I imagined German. I have no idea why German, except that having lived in Kitchener, (once named Berlin) I have gone to Oktoberfest celebrations and enjoyed German culture.

I hadn’t realized that countries around the world would carry my book. I’ve found that it is available to purchase everywhere from South America to Romania. It’s in shops in Quebec, and it’s in shops in Ireland.

My audiobook, available in Australia

It just blows my mind! In my wildest dreams, I had not expected my debut novel to be available in Italy, Romania or Denmark.



My main character, Annora Garde, is well traveled, a freelance art conservator who has worked in museums around the world. It does seem fitting that her story is globe trotting too. And it brings me indescribable joy to know that a shopper in London, England and a shopper in London, Ontario can walk into a bookstore and find my book on a shelf. It gives me the same feeling knowing my book is available in digital formats in Hong Kong and Africa.

It can be overwhelming at times– the vastness of my potential readership, the distance my words may have traveled. The emotions are just as immense, ocean wide and deep.

Thank you, readers, far and wide. I am thrilled my book is in your neighbourhood.

2 thoughts on “A Cruel Light: Globe Trotter

  1. Rare to find a new author with the richness of character coupled with a vivid sense of place and a compelling mystery rolled into one. The last time I found someone this profoundly engaging, it was Louise Penny followed closely after her work by MK Coker and James Anderson. Unusual stories, plots defying the obvious, and most of all characters one really wises to know set some literature apart. This is one of those amazing novels. I am captivated and engrossed by every turn of phrase, every insight, every personal quirk of the characters. Thank you for this gift to readers. I hope this is the beginning of a long writing career. The work is simply astonishingly wonderful.

    Like

    1. Oh my! Thank you for your kind words! It’s been a grueling few weeks for me–between finishing book two, having an emergency bathroom reno, my teen home with a nasty cold, and other life hick ups, I was at the ‘stick-a-fork-in-me’ stage. This morning, I read your comments, and I have been smiling ever since. I am so deeply touched.

      Like

Leave a comment